LibGuides: Nursing Resource Guide: Databases/Electronic Resources

Description:

Databases and electronic resources can connect you to large-scale collections of information in many different forms. They are useful for:

Conducting literature searches for papers and research
Point-of-care tools designed to connect you with current clinical information
Serve as interfaces that make specific types of tools available to you.

Here are some database suggestions that can be useful to student or practicing nurses.

EBSCOHost

All Instructors and students have free access to EBSCOHost through Southwest University.

EBSCOHost is a powerful online reference system offered by the Southwest University Library.

Instructors and students can access EBSCOHost from the computers at the Southwest University Library.

Away from campus? Then access EBSCOHost anytime at

https://search.ebscohost.com

Contact the Library Staff at 915-778-4001 ext. 2022 for the username and password.

Nursing Reference Center

All Instructors and students have free access to Nursing Reference Center through Southwest University.

Nursing Reference Center enables nurses to get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills and read full-text journal articles anytime and anywhere. Nursing Reference Center is an evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses.

Instructors and students can access EBSCOHost from the computers at the Southwest University Library.

Away from campus? Then access EBSCOHost anytime at

https://search.ebscohost.com

Contact the Library Staff at 915-778-4001 ext. 2022 for the username and password.

Suggested Nursing Databases for Searching

PubMed
PubMed is a bibliographic database providing abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; it is the Index Medicus and provides access to articles in the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine. Includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. PubMed, when accessed by registered Academic users via a Library link, brings the user full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.